Trombonist Dominic Marino

Dominic Marino plays in section.

Dominic Marino is an award-winning trombonist, composer, arranger, sound engineer, and music producer. Dominic has studied at the University of North Texas, DePaul University (B.M. Jazz Studies), and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (M.M. Jazz Studies). He has performed across the country and around the world.

As a professional freelance trombonist, Dominic has performed with the Woody Herman Orchestra, the Bob Lark Alumni Band, the Glenn Miller Orchestra, the Jimmy Dorsey Orchestra, Umphree’s McGee, Marie Osmond, Frank Sinatra, Jr., The O’Jays, Under the Streetlamp, Rich Daniels & The City Lights Orchestra, Carmon DeLeone’s New Studio Big Band, Ed Moss and the Society Jazz Orchestra, the PsycoAcoustic Orchestra, Bill O’Connell’s Chicago Skyliners, the Bill Porter Orchestra, the Masterworks Orchestra, the Cincinnati Contemporary Jazz Orchestra, Tropicoso, Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park, and Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines, among others.

In Cincinnati, Dominic can be seen regularly with The Cincy Brass, Eclipse, the Newbees, and the Kentucky Symphony Orchestra. He has served as a faculty member for the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music’s Jazz Studies Department and a teacher and consultant with the Cincinnati School for Creative & Performing Arts, as well as the Director of Education and board member for the Cincinnati Contemporary Jazz Orchestra. He has presented masterclasses and clinics for the Cincinnati Youth Jazz Orchestra, Springfield Youth Symphony, Lakota East and Lakota West high schools, Taylor High School, Amelia High School, Fairfield Freshman School, Horizon Science Academy, and Shroder Paideia Academy, and directed the OMEA District XIV Honor Jazz Ensemble. He has served as director of the Tri-State Jazz Ensembles since 2011.

Dominic is a trombonist, composer/arranger, manager, and the emcee for The Cincy Brass, three-time Cincinnati Entertainment Award winners in the Funk/R&B/Soul category (2011, 2012, 2013). The band also was nominated in 2011 for a CEA award for Best Live Act, and nominated for Brass Band Cover Songs That Are Better Than The Original by, They took third place in Best Cover Band in Cincinnati Magazine’s annual Best of Cincinnati issue of 2013. They were’s November 2011 “Artist of the Month,” and were CityBeat’s #3 album (“Ain’t Nuttin Louder”) of 2011. The Cincy Brass has shared the stage with Ray’s Music Exchange, Foxy Shazam, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Umphrey’s McGee, Robert Randolph and the Family Band, Journey, Foreigner, 311, Sublime, Booker T. Jones, Blessid Union of Souls, and Big Freedia, among others. The Cincy Brass has performed at numerous events and venues in the Greater Cincinnati area, including Riverbend Music Center, the Taste of Cincinnati, MidPoint Music Festival, Music Hall, Memorial Hall, Oktoberfest Zinzinnati (America’s largest Oktoberfest), Newport on the Levee, the Cincinnati Reds at Great American Ball Park, Fountain Square, the Duke Energy Convention Center, Belterra Park, Miami University (Oxford), University of Cincinnati, Coney Island, the Southgate House, MOTR pub, and Arnold’s (Cincinnati’s oldest tavern).

Dominic has appeared on many recordings as a performer, writer, and/or producer and has been commissioned to write numerous charts for many different artists and clients, including Pepsi; Andy Dalton and the Cincinnati Bengals; the Bob Lark Alumni Big Band; Us, Today; The Cincy Brass; the Joe Duran Nonet; Fabrice Eulry; Tropicoso; Jason Ludwig; Saurab Bhargava, and more. He also plays the part of Frank Rehak in the upcoming film “Miles Ahead” directed by Don Cheadle.

Dominic’s works have been performed all across America for a variety of purposes, including the Ohio Music Education Association, the Illinois Music Educators Association, the Iowa Music Educators Association, and the Kansas Music Educators Association conferences. He provided arrangements for “America in the Age of Obama” – Barack Obama’s event in Chicago’s Grant Park celebrating his 2008 presidential victory.